Commission on Statistical Physics (C3)

Boltzmann Award 2013 Announcement

C3 Commission of IUPAP

The Boltzmann Award of the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) will be delivered during Statphys25, to be held in Seoul (Korea), July 22 -26, 2013. The award, consisting of a gilded medal, honours outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. The recipient should be a scientist who has not received the Boltzmann Medal or the Nobel Prize before. Previous medalists are K. G. Wilson, M. E. Fisher, D. Ruelle and Y. Sinai, L. P. Kadanoff, J. L. Lebowitz and G. Parisi, S. F. Edwards, E. H. Lieb and B. Widom, B. Alder and K. Kawasaki, E. G. D. Cohen and H. E. Stanley, K. Binder and G. Gallavotti, J. Cardy and B. Derrida. . Nominations for the award should be sent to Stefano Ruffo (chair of the C3 Commission) before September 1st, 2012. The nominations must
be accompanied by a description of the work of the awardee consisting of at least one and no more than two typed pages. (This should include a listing of no more than half a dozen key publications by the nominee). Nominations for a joint award to two scientists, preferably for related work, are acceptable.

Stefano Ruffo Chairman of the C3 Commission of the IUPAP, Dipartimento di Energetica, Università di Firenze,Firenze, Italy
Tel: +39-055-4796344
Fax: +39-055-4796342


Please send updated information and corrections to