C10 Young Scientist Prize-Call for nominations

                                                 2014 YOUNG SCIENTIST PRIZE

In the structure and dynamics of condensed matter


The IUPAP C10 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the study of the structure and dynamics of condensed matter by scientists at a relatively junior stage of their career. One prize per year will be awarded on the basis of nominations received. The recipient must be no more than eight years post PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition, and is expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievement in an area of experimental, computational or theoretical condensed matter physics.

Nomination Requirements and Deadline for Submission:

A complete nomination packet submitted by a senior nominator will consist of an up-to- date CV of the candidate, an award citation of 30 words or less, publication citation statistics, two letters of support from senior scientists including one from the nominator, up to three salient publications coauthored by the nominee, and a one-page statement by the nominee explaining the overall significance of the work in terms of grand challenges in the field of structure and dynamics of condensed matter, such as in energy or information science and technologies, exploring the bio- or nano-realms, or uncovering emergent or far-from-equilibrium phenomena. One of the two support letters must be from a senior scientist who was not a former supervisor of the nominee at either the graduate or postdoctoral level. The entire package should be bundled into a single pdf file and submitted by email to the C10 Chair (Y. Fujii) at  y_fujii@cross.or.jp by July 15, 2014.

The Prize:   The Prize will consist of 1,000 Euro and a Medal and Certificate.

Prize Selection:

The prize selection committee will consist of C10 Commission members. The Prize winner will be announced on the IUPAP website.

Prize Presentation:

Winner’s Prize Lecture and Award Ceremony will be held in 2015 at the American Physical Society (APS) March Meeting (March 2-6, 2015; San Antonio, TX) in cooperation with Division of Condensed Matter Physics (DCMP) and Division of Material Physics (DMP) of APS.