International Committee on the Future of Neutron Sources (ICFNS) - Munich Meeting

Munich Meeting

On September 9, 2001 there was another short ICFNS meeting at the "International Conference on Neutron Scattering" in Munich. Most of the participants of the Mito meeting were again present. The purpose of the ICFNS was explained once more; the influence in the OECD was discussed. In this meeting there was a general agreement that IUPAP can be of great help for the future development of research with neutrons. It was decided that the each user organisations representing Europe (ENSA), US/Canada and Asia/Pacific should send two representatives into ICFNS. ENSA nominated the chairmen and the secretary of ENSA Prof. Robert Cywinski, University of Leeds, UK and Prof. Lars Borjesson, Chalmers University Goetenburg, Sweden. US/Canada is represented by Prof. Bruce Gaulin, president of the Canadian Institute of Neutron Scattering (CINS) and Prof. Vim Rhyine, president of the Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA). The Asian/Pacific user group will nominate the representatives later.

The participants of the meeting strongly emphasised that the research with neutrons is not limited to physicists. Chemists and biologists are equally strong involved. ICFNS is therefore asked to be in contact with the other relevant scientific unions like IUPAC, IUBS, IUCr and IUPAB to follow the same line for instance in OECD meetings.

Fritz G. Parak