WG.1: International Committee on Future Accelerators (ICFA)

The International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) , was created to facilitate international collaboration in the construction and use of accelerators for high energy physics. It was created in 1976 by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics. Its purposes, as stated in 1985, are as follows:

  • To promote international collaboration in all phases of the construction and exploitation of very high energy accelerators.
  • To organize regularly world-inclusive meetings for the exchange of information on future plans for regional facilities and for the formulation of advice on joint studies and uses.
  • To organise workshops for the study of problems related to super high-energy accelerator complexes and their international exploitation and to foster research and development of necessary technology.


ICFA: International Committee for Future Accelerators


Reports to the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs: 2010, 2013
Reports to General Assemblies: 2011


Chair, P. Oddone (2012-2014)
Secretary, R. Rubinstein (1993- )

CERN Member States
R. Heuer (2009-2014)
J. Mnich (2009-2014)
T. Nakada (2009-2012)
M. Krammer (2012-2014)

P. Oddone (2005-2014)
P. Drell (2009-2014)
R. Brock (2010-2012)

S. Ivanov (2012-2014)
A. Bondar (2012-2014)

Wang Yifang (2011-2014)

Other Countries
G. Alves (2011-2013)
V. Tsakanov (2011-2013)
A. Roy (2012-2014)

S. Komamiya (2000-2014)
A. Suzuki (2006-2014)

W. Trischuk (2008-2013)

Chairman of the IUPAP Commission on Particles and Fields (ex officio)
H. Aihara (2011-2014)