## **Report from Commission C12 (Nuclear Physics)**

to the

**IUPAP** Council and Commission Chairs Meeting

October 13-14, 2008

C12 had five significant activities during the past year as discussed at the Annual General Meeting of C12 held at CERN, Geneva, with –among other topics – i) decisions on C12 support for IUPAP sponsorship of conferences; ii) discussions on the next round of IUPAP (C12) Young Scientist Awards at INPC2010; iii) a report on the participation of the C12 officers in the IUPAP Working Group WG.9 and the relation of the latter to the OECD Global Science Forum Working Group on Nuclear Physics; iv) updating the IUPAP Handbook 41 on Nuclear Physics Accelerator Facilities and the roadmap for nuclear physics as requested by the OECD Global Science Forum from WG.9; v) decisions on the nominations for membership of C12 to be made to the IUPAP C & CC and General Assembly. (For items related to WG.9 see also the report from WG.9 submitted to this meeting).

**C12 Annual General Meeting:** The Commission Meeting was held on May 30th at CERN in Geneva. In addition to discussions of general interest, such as the consolidation and merger of related conference series traditionally sponsored by IUPAP into a single series, and the credit to be given to young researchers now that also nuclear physics manuscripts quite often have large authorships (sometimes 100 or more authors), [Both discussions are ongoing], and with reports on liaison activities with other Commissions, a significant part of the meeting was devoted to presentations on conferences asking for IUPAP sponsorship and subsequent *in camera* discussions about the C12 support for sponsorship. The C12 recommendations on conference sponsorship are attached as an appendix plus an attachment. In addition there was an extensive report and discussion by the Chair of the IUPAP Working group WG.9 on the participation of WG.9 in the OECD Global Science Forum Working Group on Nuclear Physics and its findings, published in May 2008, distributed at the C12 meeting. The OECD Report has a number of recommendations and requests pertaining to the nuclear physics community at large. (See also the progress report submitted by Anthony W. Thomas, Chair of WG.9 to this C & CC Meeting).

**IUPAP Young Scientist Award in Nuclear Physics:** The C12 rules provide for up to three prizes every three years to be awarded at the International Nuclear Physics Conference (the next one will be INPC2010 in Vancouver, BC, organized by TRIUMF). The prizes will be awarded in a plenary prize session in which the prize winners are requested to present a talk on their prize-winning work.

**Nominations for Membership in C12 (2009-2011):** Under the current IUPAP rules eight of the thirteen members of C12 will end their terms at the end of 2008. Great concern was expressed about the continuity

of C12 working towards the international cooperation in nuclear physics. For instance together with WG.9 it has initiated the formation of the Nuclear Physics Asian Collaboration Committee (NuPACC) and it is in the process of stimulating the formation of a similar committee for South-America with terms similar as for NuPECC, the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee. In addition there are the significant interactions with WG.9 with both the Chair and Vice-Chair of C12 serving on WG.9. The question of continuity is exacerbated by the fact that both the Chair and Vice-Chair of C12 will end their term in December 2008. A further strong consideration was proper gender representation on C12. After various discussions with the IUPAP Secretariat the following slate of nominees is proposed:

Chair: Dan-Olof Riska [Helsinki, Finland]

Vice-Chair: Hideyuki Sakai [Tokyo, Japan]

Secretary: Jean-Michel Poutissou [TRIUMF, Canada]

Members : Undraa Agvaanluvsan [Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University and National University of Mongolia, Mongolia] Constantia Alexandrou [University of Cyprus, Cyprus]

Sydney Gales [GANIL/IN2P3, France] Donald F. Geesaman [ANL, USA] Alexei Korsheninnikov [Kurchatov Institute, Russia] Alinka Lepine-Szily [Sao Paulo, Brazil] Wei-Ping Liu [CIAE, China] Giovanni Ricco [INFN-Genua, Italy] Bikash Sinha [VECC, India] Johanna Stachel [Heidelberg, Germany] Pia Thorngren-Engblom [Stockholm, Sweden]

**Appendix** 

(chos	ouver/Canada sen by C12)	А	yes	yes
QM09 Knox	ville / US	А	yes	no (previously not eligible)
FB19 Bonn	/Germany	В	yes	yes
RNB8 Grand	d Rapids/USA	В	yes	yes
NN09 Beiing	g/China	В	yes	yes
SSSP2009 Taipei	/Taiwan	С	yes	yes

## Commission C12 Support for IUPAP Conference Sponsorship