IUPAP Commission 8 on Semiconductors Report on Its Activities (2012)

IUPAP C8 Commission met on 31 July 2012 during ICPS conference, Zurich

1. Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductor Physics (YSP-SP)

A report was made of the award procedure and outcome for the 2012 Young Scientist Prizes. The awards were advertised on the IUPAP website and by circulation to the mailing list of the ICPS conference, as well as individual national Physical associations through committee member contacts. The original closing date in January only attracted 5 nominations and so this was extended to March to give a total of ten nominations. Following ranking of the nominations by the whole committee it was clear that there were two particularly outstanding nominations and it was agreed that awarded the Prizes for 2012 and 2011 should be awarded to:

Alberto Amo of CNRS-Laboratoire de Photonique et de Nanostructures, Marcoussis, France and Young Woo Son of Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Scoul, Korea

Young Woo Son of Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Seoul, Korea

The two prizewinners were nominated as invited speakers for the ICPS conference Zurich where they presented their work and were presented with their IUPAP medals and certificates. Concern was expressed that the number of nominations was rather low and it was suggested that IUPAP might consider more extensive publicity for the prizes, possibly as a collective prize advert for all commissions.

2. Planing and Supervision of ICPS (Int. Conf. on Phys. of Semiconductors) series of conferences

A report was given on the organization ICPS 2012 Zurich, 29/07-4/08/2012 which was warmly received. A further report was given on preparations for ICPS 2014 to be held in Austin, Texas, 10-14/08/2012 which were well in hand. A discussion was held on the possible locations for ICPS 2016 and it was agreed to consult with a number of Chinese colleagues to explore the possibility of holding the meeting in China. recommend this conference for Category A IUPAP support.

Following extensive consultation and interaction with colleagues in the U.S. earlier in the year it was agreed to recommend that ICPS2014 should be held in the Austin Convention centre, Texas, from $10 - 14^{\text{th}}$ August.

3. Supporting Other Conferences

A bid for IUPAP support was made by the organizers of the EP2DS/MSS 2013 conference, to be held in Wroclaw from 1-5/07/2013. This was greeted warmly and enthusiastically recommended for category B support. No further bids for IUPAP support were received.

4. Commission membership

A discussion was held on possible appointments for co-opted members and it was agreed to co-opt members of the C5 and C17 commissions. Jukka Pekola (Finland) and Jason Petta(US) were subsequently nominated.

Next meeting:

During EP2DS/MSS 2013 meeting Wroclaw, July 2013.

Commission membership 20011-14.

OFFICERS:

Chair	R. J. Nicholas	UK	<u>r.nic</u>
Vice Chair	S. J. Lee	Korea	lees
Secretary	M.Thewalt	Canada	thew

MEMBERS:

D. Awschalom G. Borgs K. Ensslin R. Haug Per-Olof Holtz B. Koiler J. Kossut Arnel Salvador P. Senellart R.Suris S. Tarucha

Country:

US
Belgium
Switzerland
Germany
Sweden
Brazil
Poland
Philippines
France
Russia
Japan

E-Mail:

<u>r.nicholas@physics.ox.ac.uk</u> <u>leesj@dongguk.edu</u> thewalt@sfu.ca

awsch@physics.ucsb.edu borghs@imec.be <u>ensslin@phys.ethz.ch</u> haug@nano.uni-hanover.de poh@ifm.liu.se <u>bk@if.ufrj.br</u> kossut@ifpan.edu.pl <u>arnels@nip.upd.edu.ph</u> <u>Pascale.senellart@lpn.cnrs.fr</u> suris@theory.ioffe.ru tarucha@ap.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp