Report on the Activities of C18 2011-2012

The main activity of C18 in the period was the discussion of candidates and selection of laureates for the IUPAP Young Scientists Prize in Mathematical Physics. The final selection took place in November 2011 and the laureates were:

Ivan Corwin, MIT, Cambridge, USA

For his outstanding contributions to the probabilistic analysis of the Kardar-Parisi-Zhang equation modeling stochastic growth processes.

Wojciech De Roeck, University of Heidelberg, Germany- for his outstanding contributions to establishing diffusion for a quantum particle coupled to a thermal Bose field.

Alessandro Giuliani, University of Rome, La Sapienza, Italy

For his outstanding contributions to the analysis of equilibrium properties of quantum spin systems, in particular the Hubbard model.

The prize ceremony took place at the 12th International Congress on Mathematical Physics that was held in Aalborg, Denmark, August 6-11, 2012. This congress was supported by IUPAP as a Category A conference.

With best regards Jakob Yngvason