C15. Commission on Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics

   Members   |   Mandate   |   Meetings   |   Reports   |   Website

Report of IUPAP Commission 15

Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics

(W. A. van Wijngaarden, C15 Chair 2002-2005)

Commission 15 undertook a number of activities during the past year. First, it endorsed a number of conferences. These notably included a very successful ICPEAC conference that was held in Rosario, Argentina in July, 2005. IUPAP also approved its recommendation to sponsor the International Conference on Atomic Physics (ICAP 20) which will be held in Innsbruck, Austria during July 16 – 21, 2006.

Another major activity was involvement in the IUPAP Nanoscience Working Group which was led by the chair of C15. The working group’s recommendation that IUPAP sponsor a small intercommission conference on Bionanoscience was approved at the General Assembly meeting in CapeTown, South Africa in October. A possible topic for a future meeting will be Ultracold Degenerate Matter. This includes topics such as Bose Einstein Condensation and ultracold fermions, fields in which a number of C15 researchers are very active.

Finally, C15 recommended a slate of candidates for its executive and commission membership listed below. All of these candidates were approved at the IUPAP General Assembly.

Chair: J. Burdoerfer (Austria)

Vice Chair: Y. Yamazaki (Japan)

Secretary: P. Hannaford (Australia)

Members: M. Castex (France)

A. Dmitriev (Russia)

B. Fricke (Germany

K. Gebbie (USA)

C. Gudino (Mexico)

Y. K. Ho (China – Taipei)

D. Mathur (India)

L. Moi (Italy)

R. Thompson (Canada)

M. Zhan (China - Beijing)

Contact IUPAP   |   Search IUPAP   |   IUPAP Home